2008 Alice Holt 10K

Charles Ashby receiving sponsorship cheques at the 2008 Alice Holt Races Charles Ashby starts the 2008 Alice Holt 1K race for children

Over 650 of all ages from under five to over seventy five took part in running events staged by Farnham Runners in Alice Holt Forest on Sunday.

This was the second year that race director Charles Ashby and his wife Elaine organised 1km, 3km and 5km fun runs in addition to the main 10km event. There was also a very popular 60m dash for the under fives.

A huge undertaking, very kindly sponsored by Trueman Letting Company of Castle Street, Farnham, Andrews garden machine specialists of Hindhead without whose financial support the races could not have taken place. Cannons Gym provided goody bags for the younger competitors. The Red Cross was on hand for any first aid needed.

Before each event Town Crier Jonathan Jones gave a stern warning, adding to the air of pre-race apprehension – all runners could expect to encounter “deep muddy hollows” around the course and would be taking part “entirely at their own risk”.

Although the races attracted entries from far and wide there were many local competitors among them and local names featured strongly among the prizewinners. There were some outstanding performances in the junior events but for most just to take part was a very positive and memorable experience.

In the 1km race (for 5-8s) six year old Luke van Oudtshoorn crossed the line with a convincing margin. Seven year old Isabelle Adams who came in 5th of the 70 runners was the first girl.

Eleven year old Cormac Scully-King achieved a time in the 3km that most adults could only dream of – 12minutes 15seconds, while Rosanna Stewart (age 12) showed her potential to place second of the forty-three 9-12 year olds in an excellent 12.31.

Spectators of the 5km witnessed a thrilling sprint finish from twins Jordan (18.34) and Sean Nutbrown (18.35), aged only 15 but ahead of the rest of the field by over two minutes. Senior lady Anna-Maria Garlia took first in the ladies race and notably first junior female Abigail Ashby (daughter of the race directors), only 13 years of age, took 3rd ladies’ place in an impressive time of 25.01.

Richard Gowan of Alton Runners took the honours in the 10km race for the second time in an amazing time of 34.39 for the hilly course. Veteran Nick Baker of Denmead Striders came in next (35.20) followed by team-mate Julian Manning in 35.44.

First lady Penny Clayton, who hails from Farnham but is now living in Maidenhead, ran a fine 40.58. Former Farnham Runner Sarah Edson enjoyed the opportunity to take part in the race during a short break form her work in China and was very pleased to finish as second lady in 42.31. Close behind her was Susanna Harrison from Woking in 42.37 (1st F45).

2008 Alice Holt 10K first mens team with trophies 2008 Alice Holt 10K first ladies team with trophies

Farnham Runners laid claim to both first men’s and ladies’ prizes with Farnham Runners ladies also second and Hart Road Runners second men’s team.

Prizewinners of the 1 km event (for ages 5-8)


  1. Isabelle Adams
  2. Evie Epps
  3. Lucy Head


  1. Luke van Oudtshoorn
  2. Daniel Berry
  3. Benjamin Garewal

Prizewinners of the 3 km event (for ages 9-12)


  1. Rosanna Stewart 12.31
  2. Bethany Gibson 13.10
  3. Eleanor Harrison 13.16


  1. Cormac Scully-King 12.15
  2. Nathan Gibson 12.43
  3. Stephen Pacy 13.00

Prizewinners of the 5km fun run

Females – Juniors

  1. Abigail Ashby 25.01
  2. Rosie Gibbons 28.39
  3. Katie Gibbons 28.48

Females – Seniors

  1. Anna-Maria Garlia 21.39
  2. Kayleigh Copeland 28.58
  3. Joanna Beswetherick 29.06


  1. Natalie Nutbrown 25.34
  2. Kate Devereux 28.26
  3. Tracy Hughes 28.39


  1. Debbie Pagan 24.16


  1. Jacki Bishop 31.24


  1. Diane Greaves 31.48

Males – Juniors

  1. Jordan Nutbrown 18.34
  2. Sean Nutbrown 18.35
  3. Adam Cauldwell 20.44

Males – Seniors

  1. Richard Trust 29.58
  2. Ian Aithchison 31.21
  3. Matthew Dando 45.14


  1. Andrew Blacknell 21.55
  2. Richard Greaves 22.58
  3. Julian Nutbrown 23.47


  1. Stephen King 25.20


  1. Peter Harlock 30.25


  1. Bruce Peto 28.16

Prizewinners of the 10km race

Senior ladies

  1. Penny Clayton 40.58
  2. Sarah Edson 42.31
  3. Fiona Cramp 43.39


  1. Michelle Oldham 43.35
  2. Angela Epps 43.59
  3. Wendy Lockwood 44.50


  1. Susanna Harrison 42.37
  2. Lynne Whitaker 42.43.


  1. Liz Bowers 43.53
  2. Jane Georghiou 44.21


  1. Wendy Whelan 58.13.

Senior men

  1. Richard Gowan 34.39
  2. Julian Manning 35.44
  3. James Wallace 37.33


  1. Nick Baker 35.20
  2. Tad Dicker 36.10
  3. Tom Frost 37.24


  1. Phil Guest 37.43
  2. Nick Holmes 39.08


  1. Terry Steadman 44.51
  2. Jim Organ 45.33


  1. Hugh Bethell 49.06


  1. William Allcock 53.53

Ladies team

  1. Farnham Runners

Mens team

  1. Farnham Runners