2008 Annual Awards Dinner, TRXCL Lord Wandsworth College and HRRL Stubbington Green 10km

Annual Awards Dinner Dance

Diners around a table at the 2008 Annual Awards Dinner Charles Ashby receiving the Steve Parker Trophy at the 2008 Annual Awards Dinner Hillary Carter receiving the Handicap Trophy at the 2008 Annual Awards Dinner

The annual dinner dance and awards presentation is a popular event in the Farnham Runners calendar. Chairman Dan Smith thanked everyone for contributing to a very successful year for the club, citing the growth in membership, success in leagues and social events. He thanked Jo Staples and Frances Britain for organising the evening before presenting the awards.

Graham Russ won the Paul Charlton Memorial Trophy for the quickest marathon of 2007 for his time of 2hours 46mins 38secs in London, an outstanding club record debut result.

Hillary Carter (photo above) is now the proud owner of the Club Handicap Trophy, while the unsuspecting Howard Inns and Angela Epps were awarded the Herbie and Prince Memorial trophies respectively for improvement between 2006-2007 in the Alice Holt 10km race.

Charles Ashby (photo above) was the very deserving winner of the Steve Parker Trophy for the person who has contributed most to the club over the year for his vision and hard work as race director for the Alice Holt race and the Today’s Runner cross-country.

Vouchers for the Club’s Grand Prix went to (men) Andy Tweed (who completed a club record of 23 races), Charles Ashby, Dan Smith, Bob Brimicombe and Steve Kitney and (ladies) Jane Georghiou, Angela Epps, Caroline Freeman, Lindsay Bamford, Kim Mepsted.

Gallery (click to browse individual photos):

TRXCL – Lord Wandsworth College

The next morning thirty members were caked in mud but smiling after the fourth round of the Today’s Runner Winter League at Lord Wandsworth College, organised by Hart Road Runners. All fought hard for their place in support of their team which still lies joint first in the league. Stiff competition gave the club joint 3rd place on the day with the men taking fifth and the ladies fourth.

A jubilant Charles Ashby (22nd) seemed to float over the mud to win a tussle with Steve Kitney (24th). Dan Smith returning to fitness settled for a worthy 34th. The still improving Mike Ashworth finished 46th, with Dave Armstrong not far behind (50th). Just denied a scoring team place came Colin Butfield (53rd) while Alan Froud (63rd) and Matt Burns (67th) were also well up in a strong field.

Other mens’ placings: Paul Beesley 75, Tim Cummins 80, Mike Walberton 88, Steve Gillingham 91, Richard Cieslik 97, Howard Inns 118, Malcolm Fitzsimmons 142, Rob Murdoch, 164, Richard Sheppard 172, Clive Jones 178, John Applebee 185, Bob Brimicombe 189.

Angela Epps led in the ladies in a fine 5th place, very close to snatching 4th. Jane Georghiou (11th) and Lindsay Bamford (21st) completed the scoring team with Frances Britain close in 24th. Gemma Mitchell (34th), Kim Mepsted (48th) Lisa Smith (49th) Julie Russ (55th), Diane Cox (74th) and Caroline Freeman (79th) all gave strong support.

HRRL – Stubbington Green 10km

A stiff wind along the seafront at the Hampshire Road League Stubbington Green 10km the previous weekend did not prevent some Farnham Runners from achieving personal best times.

Michael Rix was first Farnham man home in 37mins 26secs to place 45th of 650 men in this very competitive race. Improving with every race Steve Kitney was close behind in 37.54 (54th), a time very close to his personal best despite the wind. Andy Eakins beat the 40 minute mark for the first time (39.15, 43rd), chased by Bob Brimicombe (39.18, 79th). These made up the “A” team that placed a creditable 6th in Division One of the Hampshire Road Race League.
The “B” team of Steve Gillingham (40.37), Tim Cummins (42.46), Mike Ashworth (42.54) and Richard Cieslik (43.25) were 11th.
Other men’s results: Dan Smith 43.40, Howard Inns 45.00, Andy Tweed 46.13, Steve Payne 46.35, Richard Sheppard 49.19, Stuart Edgoose (6th M70) 51.39.

Angela Epps led in the Farnham ladies in 42.34 (25th) while Jane Georghiou took first in the W55 category (43.58, 37th). Caroline Freeman (52.10) battled with Lisa Smith for the third scoring place (52.24). The team took 8th in Division One but still lie 2nd after five races in the league.