HRRL Alton 10 and Hook 10 Mile

HRRL Alton 10

Graham Wilton - first male Farnham Runner home at 2008 Alton 10 Angela Epps - first lady Farnham Runner home at 2008 Alton 10

Just five weeks after leaving Farnham in snow for the last Hampshire Road League race, runners faced soaring temperatures for the 25th Alton Ten mile race. The forty-two Farnham Runners who lined up at the start all survived the course to enjoy a welcome hose down after crossing the line and claim a water bottle memento.

There were some very impressive times from three newcomers to the club while two of the ladies were among the prizewinners.

Sixteenth of the 533 finishers was Graham Wilton (photo above) who achieved a splendid result over the hilly route in the conditions. His time of 62 minutes 45 seconds placed him 7th in the M40 category. Matthew Nutt put in a superb performance on his club debut taking 23rd slot (12th senior man) in only 64.10. Michael Rix, not completely on form, was home in 65.48 for 39th place while Charles Ashby completed the A team result in 68.09 (54th). This gave them an excellent 3rd position in league Division One.

Only five seconds separated new members Spencer Ward (68.48) and Michael Smith (68.53) as they led in the B team that came 4th. Next was Steve Gillingham in 71.23. Gearing up for a significant age change, Terry Steadman sped round in 72.56 but could not hold off a late surge from Mike Walberton (72.45) for the final team place.

Farnham Runners ladies were delighted to be the second team with only Winchester AC ahead. Angela Epps (photo above) kept up a good pace throughout despite the heat to finish a fine 12th of 167 ladies and place 3rd in the W40 section with a time of 73.34. Jane Georghiou deducted 76 seconds from the W55 course record in 75.53 (20th). Frances Britain made a huge contribution to the team result crossing the line in 79.17 (30th).

Gabi Hitchcock (83.35) headed the 5th placed B team of Caroline Freeman (93.35) and Wendy Carley (97.25) who just denied Diane Cox (97.43) a team place.

Other results – Men: Steve Murphy 73.16, Mike Ashworth 74.28, Matt Burns 75.04, Dave Armstrong 79.18, Alan Froud 79.33, Nick Hitchcock 81.09, Malcolm Fitzsimmons 81.22, Steve Payne 83.39, Simon Brander 86.17, Paul Beesley 87.09, Andy Tweed 87.28, Howard Inns 88.14, Simon Clyde 90.51, Rob Murdoch 91.02, Peter Strange 91.45, Richard Sheppard 93.32, Tim Cummins 93.35, Andrew Perrin 94.53, Estanislao Hutten-Czapski 95.16, Ian Carley 97.25, Bob Brimicombe 97.43, Clive Jones 99.32, Don Wakefield 115.40.

Women: Nathalie Garrison 104.14, Chris Lyne 111.24, Jo Baker 112.41.

Hook Ten Mile

The following week Graham Wilton was delighted to be awarded first prize in the M40 category Hook ten mile. Better conditions saw him finishing 7th overall in 59.26, over three minutes faster than at Alton. Spencer Ward deducted four minutes (66.55) while Mike Walberton achieved a PB by 5 minutes (67.44).

Other times: Mike Ashworth 70.51, Malcolm Fitzsimmons 73.52, Michael Perrett 82.50, Caroline Freeman 84.50, Shirley Perrett 93.43.