Yateley 10K series race 2, Basingstoke 5K time trial series and BMAF Championships

Yateley 10K

Farnham Runners took three more prizes in the second of the Yateley 10k series, with many spectators amazed that anyone could race on what was reportedly the hottest day of the year so far. Times were down on previous attempts but Michael Rix impressed with a 36 minute 28 second time for 10th place of 770 finishers. (All times given are chip times.) Next for Farnham Ian Carley was 3rd in the M40 category with a speedy 38.17 (25th) while Julian Mann, first veteran in the first race, had to be content with 39.06 (8th M40, 39th).

Sarah Hill, very close behind him in 39.09, put in another excellent performance to cross the line as 3rd lady and 2nd in the F35 category. Second Farnham lady was Angela Epps in 43.36 (8th F35, 11th lady) with Jane Georghiou 1st W55 in 44.28 (14th).

Other times: Steve Kitney 40.48, Mike Walberton 41.37, Steve Murphy 42.02, Tim Cummins 44.40, Simon Brander 45.05, Paul Beesley 45.00, Frances Britain 46.28 (10th F35), Dave Armstrong 46.56, Mike Ashworth 47.17, Chris Cramp 47.18, Nick Hill 47.20, Catherine Bradley 49.01, Ken Holloway 50.00, Steve Payne 50.52, Nick King 51.08, Howard Inns 53.27, Emma Doven 54.22, Peter Strange 56.14, Suzanne Munton 57.05, Debbie Addison 58.01.

Basingstoke 5K time trial series

Steve Gillinghan with 2009 Basingstoke 5K Time Trail Series Trophy

Steve Gillingham, as reported on the “parkrun” website was the “runaway winner of the men’s points competition” at the Basingstoke 2008-2009 5 km Saturday morning time trials.

He completed 45 of 51 possible events and helped with two more. His total of over 4000 points was a massive 798 ahead of the next runner and he received memento and enough sports drink from sponsors Lucozade Sport to keep him going for a quite a while.

British Masters Track and Field Championships

Jane Georghiou (second from left) running on the track at Oxford in the 2009 BMAF 5000m championship

Jane Georghiou finished 4th W55 in the 5km at the British Masters Track and Field Championships in a time of 20.53.