2010 Club Championship

Start of 2010 Club Championship

A record of 52 members finished the 2010 Farnham Runners Club Championship. The traditional hilly multi-terrain course of approximately 10 km challenged the fitness levels of experienced and newer runners alike, especially on a hot and humid evening. Competition was keen for most of the eight age group awards on offer.

Michael Rix winning the mens 2010 Club Championshiprace

A leading pack of five men soon split to give three at the front. Then towards the end of the first mile winner and top senior for the third time, Michael Rix (photo above) established a further gap to cross the line the 6th fastest since the event began, recording 35minutes 59 seconds. Ian Carley, who won the tussle for first veterans’ place, accelerated ahead of Andrew Ellison on the steep downhill section through the woods. Carley clocked 36-30, the second fastest V40 time on club records with Ellison (36-38) now 3rd. Charles Ashby as 3rd V40 in 38-29 kept ahead of the second senior James Ogilvie (39-38), while 3rd senior was Nick Hitchcock in 41-49.

Scott Salmon stormed round in an impressive 41-56 to be a delighted winner of the V50 shield. Other hopefuls who will have to wait another year included Mike Walberton (43-42), Terry Copeland (44-02), and Rob Murdoch (45-52). With no-one contesting the M60 trophy Terry Steadman holds on to it.

Gaby Hitchcock winning the ladies 2010 Club Championship race

Gabi Hitchcock (photo above) led out the ladies from the gun and none could catch her. Her strength and determination showed through and she was a deserved champion of the ladies and the senior trophy winner in 43-23. Second senior lady was Suzanne Munton (51-11) and third Emma Drinkwater (52-17).

The W35 award was strongly contested with Louise James (45-32) the comfortable victor ahead of a close quartet of Amanda Allen (47-12), Frances Britain (47-21) and Lindsay Bamford (47-54). Fourth lady Angela Epps (46.54) snapped up the W45 trophy, followed by Sue Boxall (48-23), Kaz Kawamura (53-27) and Sally Lawrence (56-16). Jane Georghiou was first W55 in 43-45 with Sue Goater second (57-44).

The following results show the high level of enthusiasm from a wide range of members to push themselves over this tough club event.

Men: Steve Murphy 41-00, Nick Hill 41-16, Steve Gillingham 41-42, Tim Cummins 41-57, Steve Kitney 42-57, Paul Beesley 43-19, Chad Bedard 43-46, Matt Burns 44-51, Chris Cramp 45-04, James Finney 46-33, Nick King 47-52, Les Boxall 49-13, Tim Withers 49-38, Hillary Carter 51-23, Colin Pirie 52-00, Paul Robins 52-26, Garry Taylor 53-11, Stefan Klincewicz 57-44, John Applebee (sweeper) 67-23.

Ladies: Wendy Carley 52-21, Emma Doven 52-52, Lucy Harris 53-33, Jess Page 55-02, Kim Mepsted 56-49, Kay Copeland 56-53, Debbie Addison 57-58, Becky Martin 57-59, Jenny Royle (no time recorded), Elizabeth Tranter 67-22.

The whole race was expertly organised by race director Charles Ashby and there was excellent marshal and helper turn-out. At the prize-giving chairman Dan Smith also thanked all those who helped prepare the popular post-race BBQ.