TRXCL Staunton Country Park, HRRL Salisbury 10 and Worthing Twenty

TRXCL – Staunton Country Park

Some of the Farnham Runners team before the 2012 TRXCL race at Staunton Country Park

Farnham Runners win 2011/12 League

Farnham Runners were out in force at the final round of the Today’s Runner Winter League cross-country at Staunton Country Park, organised by Denmead Striders. They put out the best ladies’ team since 1990 and a winning men’s team for the 5th time this season to clinch first place overall on the day. With one race of the series to be discounted they were certain to come out on top, their third series win in four years, even without this final victory. There was great disappointment when they found that they could not officially be crowned champions, as the previous year’s winners had not returned the trophy.

Andrew Ellison in 6th, Charles Ashby 8th, Richard Strode 9th, Bob Brimicombe 20th and Steve Kitney 21st did Farnham Runners proud as usual. Strong back up came from Nick Hitchcock (29th), Steve Parker (31st), Tim Cummins (35th), Scott Salmon (38th), Chris Cramp (57th), Les Boxall (77th) and Phil Masters (92nd).

For the ladies Laura Boon flew over the mud for an excellent 2nd place, on the final few yards just getting the better of new member Tamara Dutt in 3rd, who without the benefit of studded shoes still made a remarkable debut in this league. Gabi Hitchcock underlined her present form for another fine 4th place. This team could not be beaten.

In the ranks of non-scoring places were Jane Georghiou (9th), Lindsay Bamford (16th), Sue Boxall (22nd) and Christy Roxburgh (23rd). Farnham’s youngest member Abigail Ashby sprinted to the finish for a fine 30th, while Elaine Ashby overtook four ladies on the final hill for 42nd, with Catherine Dutt just two places behind on her debut.

Worthing Twenty

On the same day Sarah Hill was first lady for an amazing third time with a superb run at the Worthing Twenty her time of 2.11.03, remarkably identical to her 2011 time. She was followed by Wendy Carley in 2-59-09. Others competed in the Spitfire 20 miler: Hillary Carter 3-05-02, Peter Strange 3-07-03 (PB by 10 mins), Tori Shaw 3-12-12, Andrew Perrin 3-13-42, Jessica Page 3-15-03, while Nikki Hammond took 7 minutes from her 10 mile PB with 1-36-43 in the Tempest Ten.

HRRL Salisbury 10

The previous week on a glorious Spring day eleven members supported the club in the Hampshire Road Race League’s Salisbury 10 miler.

Ian Carley led them in with an excellent sub hour time over the undulating course (59-55). Andrew Ellison had good reason to be pleased with his performance (1-01-00) while Mike Walberton was delighted with a personal best by 40 seconds (1-03-52). Bob Brimicombe completed the A team score with 1-05-01 to help the squad to 2nd on the day in Division Two. Lying 3rd on aggregate they need good scores at the final three races to secure promotion.

The mens’ B team of Scott Salmon (1-07-58), Mike Ashworth (1-08-16), Nick Hill (1-10-48) and Colin Pirie (1-20-00) were 7th, (6th on aggregate). Peter Strange (1-28-15) is the only Farnham Runners man to have run all four of the league races so far this year, having driven through snow in his enthusiasm to get to get to the Ryde 10. He is enjoying his present top place in the clubs Grand Prix for the year so far.

An incomplete team of Jane Georghiou (1-12-50, 1st W55) and Wendy Carley (1-23-21) gave the ladies 9th in Division One on the day (agg. 8th).