HRRL Eastleigh 10K

Twenty three Farnham Runners braved atrocious weather to support their team in the 7th race of the Hampshire Road Race League. The Eastleigh 10km is renowned as a fast flat course but organisers, Southampton Running club recorded an average wind speed of 20 mph during the race so this impacted on times considerably.

Five of the men still managed sub 40 minute times. Charles Ashby overtook Steve Kitney in the last kilometer to steal the club’s top honours and record an excellent sub 37 minute personal best of 36 mins 58 secs, (76th, 13th M40) with Kitney close in 37.09, (79th, 14th M40). Andy Eakins also improved on his previous best of 37.56 as 94th of a total 874 men, while Bob Brimicombe clocked 38.51 for 19th M40 place. These four made the A team that came 6th in Division One.
Steve Gillingham (39.49), new member Martin McCrossan (40.17), Mike Ashworth (40.56) and Dan Smith (41.28) formed the men’s B team that were 7th.

Some close club competition spurred on the rest to good times in spite of the conditions:

Terry Steadman 42.53 (9th M55), Dave Armstrong 42.37, Richard Cieslik 42.40, Alan Froud 42.51, Matt Burns 43.11, Andy Tweed 43.28 Paul Beesley 44.33, Malcolm Fitzsimmons 44.37, Howard Inns 45.11, Steve Payne 45.55.

Angela Epps headed the Farnham ladies with a new personal best of 42.03 for 3rd F40 slot (22nd lady of 497). Caroline Freeman (47.58) ran well to take the club’s second place, with Lisa Smith (54.17) making up the first team that finished 8th in Division One. Diane Cox recorded 55.13 while Elaine Ashby (65.12) completed a successful debut event after months of secret training, both contributing to the B team result.

Thirteen members used the Fleet half marathon as training for spring marathons but the weather as no better there. Rupert Lawrence (1.33.01) and Mike Walberton (1.33.42) posted the best times while Lindsay Bamford was pleased to run close to her PB (1.43.25).

Other times: Nick Hill 1.38.15, Tim Cummins 1.38.39, Vince Crowley 1.40.22, Gemma Mitchell 1.47.00, Richard Sheppard 1.49.01, Michael Perrett 1.52.58, Rebecca Martin 1.56.38, Shirley Perrett 2.01.49, Clive Jones 2.06.55, Simon Brander 2.21.42.