SXCL Farnham

The Southern Cross Country League keeps growing and growing. Four hundred and seventy-two runners came to the third round, hosted by Farnham Runners, an increase of sixty-three on last year. Yet Farnham Runners members, admirably led by race director Craig Tate-Grimes, rose to the occasion and turned out in force to help out. Social secretary Jacquie Browne masterminded the provision of a post-race lunch for all who wished to stay. Despite the increase in numbers the events remain renowned for their convivial atmosphere and friendly rivalry.

Recent rain added mud to the challenge of the 4.6 mile course over hilly terrain. Men’s and ladies’ team scores both count for the overall club tally so consistency in both is needed for success in the league.

Haslemere Border AC were overall winners on the day, both their teams coming second and reversing positions with Farnham Runners, going up to third in the league table with Farnham Runners now fourth.

Basingstoke and Midhants AC won the men’s team event but their ladies were seventh, while Hart Road Runners ladies won but their men were seventh. This gave them both joint second on the day, with Basingstoke and Midhants AC on top on aggregate and Hart Road Runners second.

Farnham Runners men were third and the ladies sixth giving overall fourth on the day. Curtis Anderson impressed with 6th, while Rob Gilchrist recorded a personal best 11th. Richard Lovejoy 15th, Ian Carley 24th, and James Clarke 36th all showed a return to form. Just out of team placings were Andrew Ellison 37th and James Warren 39th with Stuart Taylor 53rd and Stuart Haig 60th both giving valuable support.

Nicola Douglas (19th) made a fine sprint to the finish to overtake Eloise Stradling (20th) Final scorer Lindsay Bamford (33rd) ran strongly to get the better of Jane Georghiou (35th). Sarah McCulloch 46th came next followed by Kayleigh Copeland 49th, Alice Healy 54th, Kay Copeland 55th, Anne Snelson 58th and Lina Haines 61st .

Other placings

Men: Tim Cummins 70, Colin Addison 73rd, Mike Walberton 79, Matt Dellar 80, Ian Marshall 84, Neil Ambrose 87, John Phillips 96, Paul Flattery 98, Stephen Elliott-Nicholls 106, Haywood Drake 119, Terry Copeland 125, Dan Smith 129, Steve Bailey 132, Darren Carins 135, Charles Ashby 142, William Paskell 148, Hallam Foster 166, Tim Farrant 204, Peter Chapman 216, Geoff Brown 220, Terry Steadman 221, Steve Payne 249.

Ladies: Tara Hunt 91, Vicki Clarke 94, Tina Harrison 102, Becky Martin 110, Shirley Perrett 120, Clair Bailey 146, Jenni Rayner 152, Jenny Andrews 168, Elaine Ashby 169, Mary Denise Fitzgerald (Sweeper) 183.