2006 Club Championship

Start of 2006 Club Championship

A record of 44 finishers in the Farnham Runners 2006 Club Championship reflects the current success of the club in attracting new members of all standards. The youngest male and female members of the club took the honours in this tough, hilly race of approximately 10 km, which is mainly on road but includes a steep off road section in the latter half.

Graham Russ crossed the line in 37 minutes 22 seconds, almost a minute ahead of his nearest rival, even though he added over half a minute to his time by mistaking the final approach to the finish. He was the worthy winner of the senior men’s shield for 2006. Mark Taylor (38.19) was runner up in this category with Dan Smith (40.22) 3rd and new member Steve Kitney (40.48) 4th.

Charles Ashby (38.31) was third to worry the timekeepers and reaped the benefits of veteran status by claiming the men’s veteran trophy, ahead of Steve Murphy (40.42) and Nick Hill (40.57).

Terry Steadman put in a strong performance as always to take the M50 title in 41.52, with 2nd placed Malcolm Fitzsimmons (43.25) in contention in the first half, followed by Geoff Cloke in 47.47.

Sarah Edson (41.37) produced an impressive display of both speed and endurance to finish as first lady (11th place overall) and was a delighted recipient of the senior ladies’ trophy. New members Anna Reay (45.47) and Sam Pellam (52.35) showed their potential with fine runs for 2nd and 3rd places in this category.

Frances Britain made a strong come-back to the racing scene with a fine win in the Veteran ladies’ section (46.01), followed by Gemma Mitchell (49.05) and Charlotte Self (49.24).

Jane Georghiou took the W45 shield with a time of 42.34 with Sally Lawrence 2nd (54.24) and Gill Toogood 3rd (58.02).

Other times: David Lloyd 41.14, Colin Addison 41.24,
Steve Gillingham 41.31, Len Thorn 41.47, Jim Bosworth 42.32, Andy Tweed 44.09, Simon Brander 44.27, Tim Cummins 44.46, Pete Ellerby 48.35, Colin Goody 48.52, Ken Holloway 51.56, Richard Adolph 52.45, Suzanna Ching 53.36, Amber Robertson 53.42, Rachael Crowther 54.51, Deb Collis Smith 55.18, Rachael White 56.30, Jenny Andrews 56.50, Nadine Cullum 56.50, , Helen Desmond 59.23, Tori Shaw 61. 00, Kate Dimmock and Kirsty Parrott 65.00, Jane Adams 66.00.

After the BBQ chairman Malcolm Fitzsimmons presented the trophies and thanked all who had helped to make the evening such a success. He emphasised the valuable contributions that founder member Ann Prince and Margery and Don Wakefield had made to the club over the years and welcomed them as honorary members from now on.