2007 Club Championship

Four photos of the 2007 Club Championship, the start, Michael Rix and Sarah Edson winning mens and ladies races, and four runners finishing together further down the field

A record number of 50 finished the Farnham Runners 2007 Club Championship, not deterred by the threat of rain or the challenge of the multi-terrain course of approximately 10 km. Conditions were, in fact, near perfect for running and some fast times were recorded.

Michael Rix was first to worry the timekeepers, crossing the line in only 36 minutes 5 seconds, the best time in ten years and sixth best ever recorded.

He established a lead in the first three kilometres so that he could then relax, to what for him was a comfortable pace, and his reward was the senior men’s championship shield. Mark Taylor (36.54) and Dan Smith (37.14) had a battle for second place with Smith eventually conceding.

In the veteran men’s category, Charles Ashby repeated his success of last year, with an impressive time of 37.42, not far behind the first three seniors for 4th place overall. Bob Brimicombe’s own secret training regime paid off (39.06) as he led in a trio of Steve Kitney (39.31) and Ian Carley (39.59), all inside the 40 minute mark.

Robert Murdoch (45.27) took advantage of his newly- acquired “super-veteran” status to claim the trophy by almost two minutes from Simon Brander (47.08), with Malcolm Fitzsimmons clocking 47.19.

Seventeen ladies contested the three ladies’ shields. Particularly strong on the hills, Sarah Edson was a clear winner of the senior category with an excellent time of 41minutes 13 seconds (11th overall) to be rewarded with her name on the trophy for the second year. Clair Windiate (46.35) in second place opened up a margin over Samantha Pelham (47.15) and Gabi Hitchcock (48.31).

Angela Epps (44.36) showed her class in the veteran ladies section with a considerable lead over Gemma Mitchell (49.47) and Tori Shaw (53.39).

Coming back after injury Jane Georghiou took the “super- veteran” ladies’ shield in 41.43 (12th overall), followed by Julie Russ (53.21) and Shirley Perrett (1.00.10).

Other results: Colin Addison 40.42, Mike Ashworth 40.54, Steve Murphy 41.04, Coiln Butfield 41.50, Andy Tweed 42.15, Matthew Burns 43.28, Alan Froud 43.34, Vince Crowley 43.35, David Armstrong 43.52, Simon Burgess 44.16, Simon Clyde 44.23, Nick Hitchcock 44.44, Tim Cummins 45.39, Ronan O’Carroll 46.24, Warren Butler 46.27, Chris Bain 48.09, Steve Payne 48.44, Howard Inns 49.20, Chris Spence 51.40, Mark Beeson 52.14, Phil Masters 52.37, Emma Doven 52.41, Richard Sheppard 52.53, Peter Strange 53.35, Rachel Crowther 54.32, Helen Cathie 54.35, Helen Desmond 59.21, Karen Terry, Kate Deveuve and Lesley Wood 1.00.10.

Dodging the showers after the post-race BBQ, chairman Dan Smith presented the trophies and thanked all who had helped to make the evening such a success.