2009 Club Championship

Start of the 2009 Club Championship

The annual Farnham Runners Club Championship saw more runners taking part than the entire membership a few years ago. Many others took on essential roles of timekeeping, marshalling and preparing for the BBQ after the race, while the setting on the Boune Green provided a pleasant venue for the event headquarters. A new ladies’ record for the course was set, the previous one having stood since 1991, the first year of the race. Chairman Dan Smith and race director Charles Ashby presented trophies to winners in eight age categories.

Leading club runner Michael Rix led the pack to claim the first senior men’s trophy in 36 minutes 27 seconds over the challenging multi-terrain route of approximately 10km. Behind him in this category were Mark Taylor (38.52) and Tim Cummins (42.02).

Second overall Ian Carley in 37.53 was first in the M40 category with Steve Kitney (39.17), Mike Walberton (40.45) second and third. Simon Brander (45.20) fought off stiff opposition from Dave Armstrong (45.28) and Robert Murdoch (45.53) for the M50 award. Terry Steadman (46.37) will have his name on the M60 shield for the second year as he finished ahead of Peter Strange (54.24).

Gabi Hitchcock repeated her success of 2008 in the senior ladies’ category (47.32) ahead of Suzanne Munton (55.02) and Claire Anscombe (60.51). Sarah Hill finished an excellent fourth overall in 39.02 to take the ladies record set by Ann Howard eighteen years’ ago and was rewarded with the W35 trophy with last year’s winner Angela Epps (42.34) second and Frances Britain (45.17) third.

Alison Lowes was delighted to be first W45 (51.43) with Sally Lawrence (57.53) second. Jane Georghiou in 43.47 was followed by Shirley Perrett and Sandra Bray (both 60.18) in the W55 group.

Other times: Paul Beesley 43.00, Peter Slump 43.19, Dan Smith 44.32, Steve Giliingham 45.09, Nick Hitchcock 45.09, Andy Tweed 46.23, Chris Cramp 46.38, Mike Ashworth 47.53, Steve Payne 48.15, Emma Pearson 48.19, Mark Beeson 48.28, Catherine Bradley 49.30, Howard Inns 50.42, Peter Ellerby 52.04, Emma Doven 52.41, Kim Mepsted 55.50, Debbie Addison 55.59, Guy Highfield-Robert 57.27, Helen Cathie 57.54, Elaine Ashby 69.10, Jenny Andrews 69.10, Lisa Smith and John Applebee 70.22. Guests: Matt Goater 41.22, George Fawcett 41.34, Kathy Scott 65.04.