Milland Valley trail race and Yateley 10K series

Milland Valley trail race

Twenty-three Farnham Runners took up the challenge of the Milland Valley trail race, organised by Liss Runners. The route is a tough 13 miler on tracks, paths and lanes on the Sussex/ Surrey/ Hampshire border around the village of Milland, an area now part of the South Downs National Park. Scenic views were the reward for its total ascent of 336 metres and its sharp climbs and drops.

The Farnham ladies featured strongly at the prizegiving. Gabi Hitchcock underlined her present form by finishing first lady in a fine 1 hour 44 minutes 46 seconds. Emma Whittaker-Axon who is also benefiting from increased training was third and close behind in 1-45-16. Jane Georghiou, fourth, was first in her age category (1-46-58).

For the men James Ogilvie and Charles Ashby both posted fast times of 1-33-18 and 1-34-14 respectively for 12th and 18th places out of 405 finishers. Nick Hitchcock (1-41-47, 45th) was not far behind men’s captain Steve Kitney (1-40-01, 37th).

The following members also put in strong performances, some with aching legs next day testament to the severity of the route.
Paul Beesley 1-51-58, Angela Epps 1-54-22, Dave Armstrong 1-54-23, Tim Cummins 1-55-59, Chris Cramp, 1-56-54, Rob Murdoch 1-58-19, Lindsay Bamford 1-58-51, Malcolm Fitzsimmons 1-59-28, Sue Boxall 2-04-49, Tim Withers 2-05-42, Leslie Boxall 2-11-12, Emma Doven 2-14-16, Nathalie Garrison 2-20-35, Caroline Freeman 2-22-24, Wendy Carley 2-23-08, Julie Russ 2-28-23.

Yateley 10K series

Farnham Runners also did very well in the Yateley series of evening 10km races with three taking top honours for the very worthwhile age group prizes.

Ian Carley’s splendid 37-31, 36-44 and 36-32 gave him 3rd, 2nd and 4th in the M40 section and a category series victory.

Sarah Hill won the F35 category in each race so her overall prize was assured. She finished as 3rd, 5th and 8th lady with excellent times of 38-14, 39-12 and 38-57.

Jane Georghiou was 1st, 2nd and 1st in the F55 category for her series win with times of 44-11, 44-44 and 43-00.

Angela Epps and Susan Boxall each won 3rd prize in the F45 category in the second and third races respectively with times of 46-19 and 46-54.

There were beaming smiles all round as training paid off with some new personal bests. The following are the club results from the August race (all times are chip times):

James Ogilvie 37-42 (PB), Tim Cummins 40-45, Steve Murphy 40-40, Nick Hill 41-14, Paul Beesley 41-29, Terry Copeland 42-50 PB, Emma Whittaker-Axon 43-47, Chris Cramp 44-20 (PB), Nick King 47-38, Tim Withers 49-13, Colin Pirie 49-39, Suzanne Munton 49-44 (PB), Wendy Carley 50-47, Steve Payne 52-57, Richard Sheppard 59-21, Guy Highfield-Robert 60-45, Chris Lyne 63-50.