TRXCL Rogate Common and 2010 Awards Dinner

TRXCL – Rogate Common

Farnham Runners stay top of the Today’s Runner Winter League cross-country series, just one point ahead of Basingstoke and Midhants A.C. with two events to go.

An impressive performance by the men put them ahead by a massive total of 41 in the race organised by Liss Runners at Rogate common. A stunning performance by former international steeplechaser, Claire Entwistle gave her a substantial victory in the ladies’section, helping the ladies claim 4th spot for a combined club result of 2nd.

Andrew Ellison led them over the 5mile hilly course in an excellent 4th place, with a tussle between Mike Anderson (8th) and Ian Carley (9th) for the next club slot. Charles Ashby ran well for 19th while Steve Kitney was pleased to contribute to the 5-strong scoring team in 24th.

Racing in Farnham colours for the first time Claire’s strong run was underlined by her overall position of 8th. Next came Jane Georghiou, 12th lady, with Emma Whittaker-Axon, who was delighted to make the team for the first time, 25th. Frances Britain (29th) and Lindsay Bamford (31st) ran strongly in support.

A large turnout of members all helped the team:

Men: Andy Eakins 32nd, Dan Smith 41st, Tim Cummins 44th, Stuart Morgan 46th, Paul Beesley 64th, Nick Hitchcock 69th, Dave Armstrong 70th, Martin Billett 77th, Mike Walberton 78th, Terry Copeland 81st, Tim Clover 82nd, Terry Steadman 84th, Rob Murdoch 103rd, Andrew Perrin 137th, Peter Strange 150th.

Ladies: Anna Hindle 43rd (debut), Kay Copeland 50th, Sylvia Harper 53rd, Emma Drinkwater 57th, Wendy Carley 59th, Caroline Freeman 62nd, Kim Mepsted 70th, Elaine Ashby 76th.

Farnham Runners Awards Dinner

The annual Farnham Runners Awards Dinner was very successful and enjoyed by a large proportion of members accompanied by friends and relatives.

Chairman Dan Smith emphasised the club’s success in both competitive and social aspects during the past year. He thanked social secretaries Peter Strange and Jenny Andrews for organising the event as well as member Nick King who made huge contribution in adding to the grandeur of the evening.

The following awards were presented:

  • Michael Rix won the Paul Charlton Memorial Trophy for the quickest marathon of 2009 for his time of 2:44:16 in Paris.
  • Sylvia Harper took the Club Handicap Trophy, while the unsuspecting Rebecca Martin was given the Prince Memorial Trophy for her improvement in the Alice Holt 10km race between 2008 and 2009.
  • Chris Cramp is now the proud owner of the equivalent men’s Herbie Memorial Trophy for a huge improvement of over six minutes.
  • Steve Gillingham won the prestigious Steve Parker Trophy for his commitment to coaching.
  • Vouchers for the club’s Grand Prix went to (men) Michael Rix, Steve Kitney , Charles Ashby, Bob Brimicombe and Ian Carley; (ladies) Jane Georghiou, Caroline Freeman , Angela Epps. Emma Doven and Lindsay Bamford.
  • Steve Kitney was rewarded with a “full house” trophy for completing all 25 of the clubs designated Grand Prix events in 2009 while Caroline Freeman gained similar recognition for her commitment to the team over the last two years.
  • Finally the club’s unique “Smiley” memento went to Malcolm Fitzsimmons for returning to his friends in the club after a spell abroad.