TRXCL Staunton Country Park and HRRL Salisbury 10

TRXCL – Staunton Country Park

Jane Georghiou and Sue Boxall with the TRXCL shield for the 2009-10 series

Farnham Runners returned triumphant as Today’s Runner Winter League champions for the second year in succession after the final race of the 2009-10 series organised by Denmead Striders at Staunton Country Park.

Both men’s and ladies’ teams were first. The men have scored top honours in all of the season’s races, another repeat of last year.

Neck and neck around the course, Andrew Ellison (6th) just got the better of Mike Anderson (7th) with Ian Carley keeping them in his sights (10th). Little separated Andy Eakins (16th) from Charles Ashby (17th). Steve Kitney (19th) was just denied a scoring place. Others coped well over the woodland course, with its token splattering of mud and the sting in the tail hill at the end: Tim Cummins 37th, Nick Hitchcock 46th, Terry Copeland 59th, Hillary Carter 80th, Richard Cieslik 96th and Garry Taylor, in his first run in Farnham colours, 100th.

Claire Entwistle was a comfortable winner of the ladies section, while Jane Georghiou (7th) and Emma Whittaker-Axon (14th) were both pleased with their result. Gabi Hitchcock (22nd) and Sue Boxall (28th) ran strongly in support and were also backed up by Sylvia Harper (40th), Kay Copeland 43rd, Caroline Freeman 46th, Julie Russ 49th and Diane Cox 56th.

HRRL Salisbury 10

Complete Hampshire Road League A and B men’s and ladies’ teams competed in the scenic Salisbury ten miler on a gloriously sunny though chilly and breezy day. Although the course included a number of short hills some personal bests were set. Ian Carley, though disappointed at not beating the hour, clocked a splendid 1 hour six seconds, a personal best by 1½ minutes, to place 43rd of 648. On each others’ heels were Charles Ashby (1.01.07 PB) and Steve Kitney (1.01.18 PB). Dan Smith (1.06.20) completed the A team score for 9th in Divison One of the Hampshire Road Race League (aggregate 7th). Nick Hill (1.07.49) led in the B string with Scott Salmon (1.09.22) just getting the better of Steve Murphy (1.09.27) in a sprint to the line to record a new PB. New member Tim Withers (1.24.30) took almost six minutes from his recent result at Ryde and was delighted to make a contribution to the B team that placed 9th.

Jane Georghiou was 13th lady home in 1.09.32, followed by Louise James (1.13.57) and Lindsay Bamford (1.17.21). These results lifted the Farnham ladies from 10th to 8th in Division One with three crucial events to go. Anna Reay (1.26.10) was at the helm of the 9th placed ladies B team, supported by Caroline Freeman (1.31.27) and Wendy Carley (1.35.32).