2011 Club Championship

Start of 2011 Club Championship

A fine evening helped Farnham Runners to some great times at the 21st annual Club Championship. Equalling the record set last year, fifty-two runners completed the tough multi terrain course of approximately 6 miles. After a briefing by race director Charles Ashby, last year’s chairman Dan Smith sounded the hooter to set them on their way. They were competing for eight trophies for different age categories.

Ian Carley finishing the 2011 Club Championship

A jubilant Ian Carley was first to appear back on the Bourne Green taking another 42 seconds from his previous course best last year and creeping closer towards the M40 record with a time of thirty five minutes 48 seconds. Last years winner Michael Rix, now also in the M40 class, clocked 36-41.

Amazingly the next to appear was the first lady Sarah Hill who improved on her club record set in 2009 by 88 seconds. Her time was 37-34, her reward the F35 category shield.

Another in the M40 category, Charles Ashby finished in 38-35, ahead of first senior Jason East in 39-20 while Richard Strode in 39.52 also took under forty minutes followed by new club chairman Steve Kitney in 40-04.

Mike Walberton won the fierce competition for the M50 category with a fine performance of 40-13, second only to the record of 39-33 set by Geoff Cloke in 1998. Scott Salmon led the other hopeful M50s in 41-15 with Steve Murphy (41-46) and Martin Billett 41-49 not far behind. Terry Steadman took the M60 trophy in 46-19, with Phil Masters in 47-47.

Back to the ladies new member Susie Chan impressed with a fine 43-38 ahead of Louise James in 44-45. Gabi Hitchcock took the senior lady shield with 44-51 while Angela Epps (46-14) won the trophy for her category. Wendy Carley (47-07) and Suzanne Munton (47-10) battled for next place followed by Jane Georghiou (48-55) the only competitor in her category.

Other times:

Sean Smith 40-32, Tim Cummins 41-38, Colin Addison 42-08, Nick Hitchcock 42-22, Mike Ashworth 42-29, James Finney 42-42, Terry Copeland 42-44, Albert Ellison 43-42, Stuart Morel 46-01, Neil Griffiths 46-09, Alistair Wilson 46-46, Deane Cross 46-45, Chris Cramp 47-05, Simon Brander 47-14, Howard Inns 47-35, Nick King 48-13, Des McGowan 48-48, Colin Pirie 50-10, Tim Withers 50-49, Kay Copeland 50-54, Neil Powers 51-16, Emma Doven 52-07 Emma Drinkwater 52-34, Beccy Martin 52-51, Andrew Perrrin 55-28, Helen Cathie 55-30, Phoebe Heveron 60-28, Julia Wade and Elizabeth Tranter 63-56, Richard Sheppard 64.00, Lucy Pritchard and Jenny Royle 64-02.

The chairman thanked all who had made the event successful including the race director, timekeepers and marshals as well as the social secretary, who organised the post race BBQ.