2012 Club Championship

Start of 2012 Club Championship

A record number of fifty-five Farnham Runners took part in the tough annual Club 10km Championship on the 27th June, with Race Director Charles Ashby also arranging a shorter option 5km for the first time.

Giving the pre-race briefing he emphasised the challenge of the undulating inaugural route, begun in 1991, and barely changing since then: mostly on roads but partly on a steep uphill forest track.

The shields on offer now number ten for different age categories, with an under 23 up for grabs for the first time, as well as splendid trophies for the overall men and ladies winners to keep.

First home and representing the M 40 category was Ian Carley in an excellent time of 37 minutes 27 seconds. He could never ease off the pace with fellow veteran Charles Ashby never far behind in 37-59. Repeating her placing of last year, amazingly, Sarah Hill finished third overall in 38-10 to claim victory in the ladies and F35 section. Four more dipped under 40 minutes: Julian Mann on minimal training (38-27, 3rd M40), Steve Kitney (39-32, 4th M40), Steve Nicholls (39-42, 1st senior man) and close behind Jason East (39-57, 2nd senior man).

The hotly contested M50 category was won by Mike Walberton, next home in 40-21, ahead of Scott Salmon (41-41) and Martin Billett (42-26). Terry Steadman was an unopposed but worthy winner of the M60 shield in 45-47.

Second lady and first in the senior category was Laura Boon in a fine time of 41-21, followed by a previous winner, Gabi Hitchcock in 44-23. Lindsay Bamford took the F45 category in 47-52, with Nicolette Overy second in 51-37. Jane Georghiou was the sole F55 in 47-27. Wendy Carley was 2nd F35 lady in 49-12 and Lucy Enstock 2nd senior lady in 49-34. Proud winner of the new Under 23 shield is the talented Abigail Ashby in 52-14, no longer the youngest member of the club with newcomer Eloise Standling, her “twin”, just two hours younger (53-55).

Many of the “Absolute Beginners” group who started training with the club only in March deserve congratulations on completing the full 10k or 5k routes. They have progressed extremely well, helped by their dedicated UK Athletics-trained leaders of the sessions, Ian Carley, Lindsay Bamford, Susie Chan, Jason East, Emma Drinkwater and Phil Masters.

Other results Men: Mike Ashworth 41-23, Nick Hitchcock 41-31, James Finney 42-02, Tim Cummins 42-08, Mike Taylor 43-21, Stuart Morell 43-27, Chris Cramp 43-35, Nick Hill 44-11, Steve Murphy 45-01, Terry Copeland 46-18, Mark Whitfield 48-15, Ben Le Beau 48-17, Robin Baker 49-05, Steve Payne 50-33, Howard Inns 51-10, Steve Gillingham 54-40, Richard 55-30, Russell Wheeler 56-17, Ian George 56-50 Mike Dunkley 58-42, Nigel Nicholson 60-02.

Ladies: Leigh Stanley 49-46, Emma Doven 50-55, Christy Roxburgh 51-26, Tori Shaw 51-27, Emma Drinkwater 52-42, Jessica Page 52-56, Mandy Cornelius 53-49, Mary Denise Fitzgerald 53-50, Beccy Martin 54-35, Elaine Ashby 54-38, Lina Haines 55-10, Sally Lawrence 56-00, Emma Dawson 56-50, Pam Carr Barney 64-00.

Completing the 5km were Karen Jackson, Theresa Hare, Krista Le Beau, Tracey Gardiner and Julia Frost.

The Chairman Steve Kitney thanked all who had made the event successful including the race director, timekeepers and marshals as well as the social secretary, Christy Roxburgh who organised a splendid post race BBQ.