2013 Club Championship

Start of 2013 Club Championship

Good weather encouraged forty-eight members to take part in the annual Farnham Runners Club Championship race while another eleven, all “Absolute Beginners” who started a club course in April, tackled a shorter route.

The challenging hilly route of approximately 10km is a mixture of road and off road and has remained unchanged since the inaugural event in 1991. There was fierce competition at the front and for some of the ten age category trophies up for grabs.

Chairman Steve Kitney blasted off from the gun but was soon reigned in to a close packed bunch of 6, the two eventual leaders holding back, not knowing what form the other was in. Four split way at the first junction, with race director Charles Ashby in the lead. Then Andrew Ellison put in a sprint but Ian Carley was able to close the gap. They ran neck and neck for a while until Ellison gradually pulled away.

Andrew Ellison finishing as first male in 2013 Club Championship

His time of 36 minutes 44 seconds is the 4th best M40 time in the history of the race and he was delighted to receive the winning men’s trophy as well as the M40 shield, not least because he sprang in to action for this race in the middle of a long term lay-off from running training. Carley crossed the line in 37-24, 3 seconds faster than his winning time last year, for 2nd in the M40 category.

Sarah Hill finishing as first lady in 2013 Club Championship

Not far behind came the unstoppable Sarah Hill who beat her 2011 ladies’ record with 37-31 to take the overall ladies trophy and the F35 shield.

Richard Lovejoy, improving with every race, paced sensibly for 37-39 to secure the men’s senior category award. Next Charles Ashby who, considering he was underpar on the day, did incredibly well for 37-59. Comfortably under 40 minutes came Charlie Hill-Venning (38-34) and James Warren (39-16). Just over this target was Richard Strode in 40-07, followed by Mike Ashworth (40-47) and Rob Gilchrist in 40-49.

Second lady Victoria Sadler showed her potential in her first race in Farnham colours for a fine time of 43-14.

Further back in 17th place Colin Addison led a trio of M50 men to clinch the title in 42-50, just ahead of Steve Murphy in 42-57 with last year’s winner Mike Walberton in 43-22, returning to fitness after injury.

Third lady was Jane Georghiou in 46-04, also returning from injury to take the F55 shield. Phil Masters was a clear winner of the M60 category in 50-43. Eloise Stradling was first under 23 lady in 55-54, while a delighted Jess Page took first senior lady slot in 59-33. Jane Jones and Sarah Cheyne, who started with the Absolute beginners group in April under the expert leadership of Ian Carley, crossed the line together, surprised to win the F45 shield in 61-15.

Other times (which show their own battles): Stuart Morel 41-02, Steve Kitney 41-05, Dan Smith 41-14, Alistair Hardaway 41-26, Tim Cummins 41-32, Mike Taylor 42-21, Chris Cramp 45-21, Mark Beresford 46-18, Alistair Wilson 46-35, Susie Chan 47-00 (2nd F35), Wendy Carley 48-07 (3rd F35), Neil Griffiths 48-28, Ian George 49-53, Craig Tate-Grimes 50-13, Steve Payne 50-37, Sue Taylor 50-47, Becky Martin 52-17, Sue Goater 53-48 (2nd F55), Emma Drinkwater 54-38, Richard Adolph 55-09, Jane Mezzullo 55-14, Peter Stange 56-29 (2nd M60), Mike Dunkley 56-42 (3rd M60), Tori Shaw 59-33, Katrin Petty 59-34, Pauline Parrott and Amy Goodyear (both “Absolute Beginners” in April) 65-10, with junior Abigail Ashby who sportingly offered to be the Sweeper in 65-11.

Chairman Steve Kitney thanked everyone who had made the event successful including the race director, timekeepers and marshals as well as the social secretary, Becky Martin and all those helped to provide a splendid post race BBQ.