HRRL Lordshill 10, Fleet 10k, Great South Run and other races

HRRL Lordshill 10 mile

“What a difference a year makes!”

So Farnham Runners member Chris Cramp commented after the Hampshire Road League 10 mile race at organised by Lordshill Runners.

“Last year I easily made the B team and although I have clocked a personal best by over two minutes, this year I only made the C team.”

Fellow member James Warren enthused

“It’s another first place for our men’s A team and also the men’s B [in Division Two]. The margin of victory for the men’s A was only 8 points at Lordshill (and 1 point at Solent). Just goes to show what impact that last lung-busting sprint actually has. One person overtaken in one race may well mean the difference between promotion or not at the end of the season!”

The A team was led by the talented Ian Carley, who recorded one hour and 56 seconds for 44th place of 509 (6th in the M45 category) in this competitive race. The up and coming Richard Lovejoy improved on his previous best by over four minutes for a time of 1-01-49. James Warren, now recovered from his first marathon, impressed with another 4 minute PB in 1-02-33, while the ever-present Charles Ashby ran an excellent 1-03-15.

Showing strength and depth the men’s B was an amazing 299 points ahead of the second club team in B Division 2, the slowest club scorer crossing the line in under 1 hour six minutes. Newcomers Rob Gilchrist (1-05-10) and Stuart Williamson (1-05-56) in their first 10 miler joined Jason East (1-03-45) and Mike Walberton (1-05-43, 6th M50).
Pushed into the (incomplete) C team despite a commendable 1-08-25 was club chairman Steve Kitney. The reliable Tim Cummins (1-10-33) and Chris Cramp (1-11-42, PB by over 2 mins) helped this team to 9th.

On aggregate the A team lies 3rd, the B team 1st and the C team 12th of 16 clubs in Division Two.

The ladies didn’t do quite so well but put in a solid performance for 3rd place in Division 2 for the A team and 6th for the B team of 13 clubs in Division Two. This means they are up to 6th (A) and 8th (B) on aggregate.
Jane Georghiou was 38th lady in 1-13-42 (1st in age group), followed by ultra runner Susie Chan (1-17-15) who found the distance a lot shorter than she is now used to but the pace fast. Lindsay Bamford (1-18-22) used her endurance and strength to overtake Emma Whittaker-Axon (1-18-30) in the final mile and clinch the third A team place. Catrin Petty (1-35-56) made a very useful contribution in her first Hants league event to make an incomplete but still scoring B team.

Fleet 10K

There was a strong men’s component in the Fleet 10km. Richard Lovejoy (37-33, 12th of 504 finishers) kept just ahead of 2nd M50 Mike Anderson in 37-38 (13th). Newcomer James Clarke (38-24) and Jason East (39-31) made it under 40 minutes on this undulating course, partly against a strong wind. They were followed by Rob Gilchrist (40-27), Mike Walberton (40-39), Martin Billett (42-51) and Mark Beresford (42-53). Other results: Terry Copeland 46-01, Chris Jackson 46-11, Kayleigh Copeland 47-05, Craig Tate-Grimes 50-18, Vicki Clarke 53-04 and Kay Copeland 53-27.

Great South Run

Competitors in the Great South 10 miler battled against a very strong headwind in the final two miles, as the evening storm was brewing. Among them were Farnham Runners Tim Cummins 1-11-12, Ian George 1-23-10, Neil Ambrose 1-23-16 (debut), Emma Dawson 1-23-54, Jenni Rayner 1-43-24 (debut), Gillian Slater 1-43-25 (debut).

Other races

Sarah Hill came an excellent third lady in the recent Chester Marathon clocking her second best time despite the hilly course. Her excellent result of 2-54-47 placed her top of the ladies’ national Police team.

James Warren chose the Greensand Marathon as his first attempt at the distance. A challenging hilly trail course at the best of times, it was transformed in to an even tougher race by “monsoon” conditions with deep puddles and mud on the day. James finished a splendid 14th (of 127) in 3-56-50.

Rob Gilchrist ran the Bournemouth Marathon as his first and clocked an impressive 3-34-48. He was followed by Mike Taylor (3-46-46), Alastair Hardaway (4-07- 54), Suzanne Munton (4-19-55) and John Broy (4-32-53).