2017 Club Championship

Start of 2017 Club Championship

10K race

Conditions were ideal for the Farnham Runners Club Championship and fifty seven members tackled the challenging 10km race, while nine of the Absolute Beginners of Class 2017 completed the 5km distance. Everything was expertly organised in advance by race director Craig Tate-Grimes, with Richard Sheppard taking over on the night. The timing and results were co-ordinated by Kathy Brown and a post-race Hog Roast was organised by social secretary, Georgi Robinson-Welch. Chairman Jacquie Browne ensured everything ran smoothly.

Whatever their pace all competitors were keen to put up a good showing when pitted against their team mates, with the overall and age-group trophies a major goal for some.

Sarah Hill and Richard Lovey being presented with their 2017 Club Championship trophies

There were no surprises that Richard Lovejoy strode round unchallenged after the first two seconds to take victory in 34 minutes 37 seconds. This is the third fastest in the club’s history, the two faster times both set by Richard Ferris-Khan, his 33:52 in the inaugural 1991championship still a record. Though Richard Lovejoy is now a second claim member of Farnham Runners he has taken part in three races for the club during last season and so qualified for the overall men’s and senior men’s trophies.

Next James Warren was a comfortable winner of the M40 shield in an excellent time of 36:49. He held off James Clarke in the senior men’s category who recorded 37:05. Not far back M40 Andrew Ellison gave his all to the finish for 37:19.

Again there was no doubt who would be the overall ladies’ winner. For the seventh consecutive year Sarah Hill had no opposition as she finished fifth overall in 37:36, also taking first F35 slot.

Jason East (39:39) was third M40, followed by Mark Maxwell (39:48) and Richard Strode (39:51), also in this category, while Stuart Taylor (39:54) was third senior.

A battle between Charles Ashby (41:24) and Colin Addison (41:29) for the M50 honours saw Ashby the winner as he fought off injury to stride across the Bourne Green just five seconds ahead. Alistair Hardaway was third M50 in 42:45.

Winner of the M60 category for the eighth time was Terry Steadman in 50:06, with Mike Dunkley second in 1:00:28, while Peter Strange took the M70 trophy in 1:07:49.

After a spirited finish, a surprise second across the line for the ladies was Vicki Clarke (43:52), now a second claim club member who had run two races for the club in the previous year, but not three and therefore not eligible for the senior ladies trophy. This went to Kayleigh Copeland who was just three seconds behind (43:55).

In the U23 category came Eloise Stradling in 44:37, while Emma Pearson was second F35 in 45:10.

First F45 Lindsay Bamford overtook in the latter stages for 47:01, ahead of third F35, Fiona Carle, 47:15. On her heels was F55 shield winner, Linda Tyler clocking 47:19. Not far back came Jane Georghiou in 47:30, rewarded with a unique new age category shield, F64+!

Senior lady Hannah Sainsbury recorded 51:33, with Kay Copeland second F55 in 51:50 and Annabel Sommerfeld third in 57:53.

Other times:

  • Senior men: Steve Bailey 45:05, Spencer Barfield 48:17.
  • M40: Stuart Williamson 40:12, Stuart Haig 40:38, Ben Roseveare 41:03, John Hill-Venning 41:40, Tim Cummins 41:46, Mike Taylor 41:51, John Phillips 41:56, Matt Dellar 42:11, Dan Smith 46:28, Barney Whiter 46:59, Mike Hitchings 48:37.
  • M50: Terry Copeland 43:10, Steve Murphy 46:43, Damian Probett 48:03, Paul Mackie 48:04, Ian Loader 56:46.
  • F35: Sue Taylor 51:58, Rebecca Martin 53:02, Clair Bailey 56:13, Gulfer Budden 58:15, Pauline Hamilton 59:37, Ali Welch 1:00:40, Emilie Amos 1:07:10. F45: Jane Porter 1:01:15, Carolyn Wickham 1:06:57, Nicola O’Connor 1:07:02, Tracy Holmes 1:09:39, Susan McKenzie 1:09:46, Belinda Goodman 1:09:51.

Gallery (click to browse individual photos):

Absolute Beginners 5K and other awards

Peter Strange presented medals to the Absolute Beginners who had completed the 2017 course and 5km race: Mark Hazelder, Hannah Bence, Julian Saunders, Rosetta Howe, Sally Kerr, Angela Wright, Barbara Coloe, Samantha Trebble, Helen Phillips, as well as some special awards:-

  • Fastest time trial – David Boakes
  • Most Improved time trial – Sam Trebble and Helen Philips (both by over 3 mins)
  • Top Attenders – Emma Campbell and Lynn Clark (100%) and Sally Kerr (missed one)
  • Most tenacious runners – Caroline Gritt and Deborah Lambert

The “Bake Off”

Before presenting the 10k trophies, chairman Jacquie Browne thanked Craig Tate-Grimes, Richard Sheppard, Kathy Brown and all those who made the evening a success, including Georgi Robinson-Welch who had also organised the popular “Bake Off”.

The “Bake –off” prizes went to Clair Bailey (senior) while Tom Bailey (aged 7) retained his junior title.