HRRL Lordshill 10k

Farnham Runners have completed one of their best ever seasons in the Hampshire Road League, with the ladies’ A team finishing fifth of ten clubs in the top division and the men’s A squad gaining promotion to the top flight for next year.

Said ladies captain Jane Georghiou,

“This is our eighth year in the first division since we were first promoted for the 2007-8 season. That season we gained our highest place of third, followed by a fifth the following year and this season we have equalled that. In fact this year we tied with the fourth club, Stubbington Green Runners, on the league score but just fell behind them on race points.”

The men were delighted to gain promotion again. Men’s captain, John Phillips, commented,

“We knew this was secured before the final two races, commented . We finished twelve points above the third club, Portsmouth Joggers, but were up against a very strong Andover team for the top spot of division two.”

The Farnham Runners B and C teams fared well too. The men’s Bs in B division one came 10th of 15 clubs while the Cs finished 4th of 19 in their division.

In B division one the ladies Bs were 9th/15 and the Cs 10th/18 in the B division two.

Ali Hardaway will be the proud recipient of a Hampshire Road Race League T shirt, having completed all twelve events, an achievement of a very select group each year.

Farnham Runners also did well in the individual tables. James Clarke equalled the highest ever Farnham Runners’ men’s position of eighth, also attained by Michael Rix in 2009. Matt Saker is listed 22nd, Harvey Wickham 38th, Neil Ambrose 50th, Ali Hardaway 71st, John Phillips 73rd, Chris Cramp 85th, Steve Bailey 86th and Damian Probett 105th. The ladies were Linda Tyler 24th, Jane Georghiou 32nd, Anne Snelson 41st and Clair Bailey 76th. All should receive a much prized mug, which lists the names of all those who have completed a sufficient number of races.

Despite an early start, conditions were warm and close for the final event, the Lordshill 10km, near Southampton. James Clarke in an excellent 36 minutes13 seconds was 20th while Matt Saker was third M50 in 37:26. Harvey Wickham in 39:54 and Neil Ambrose in 40:07 completed the A score (2nd in Division two).

Charles Ashby led the B team, which placed 8th, in 40:41, followed by Ali Hardaway in 41:51, Keith Marshall (2nd M60) in 42:18 and Steve Bailey in 42:25. The C team comprised Damian Probett in a personal best 44:05, Craig Tate-Grimes in 53:34, Robert Drummond (7th M70) in 1:00:07 and 8th M70 Douglas Blyth in 1:00:11. This team came 8th of 19.

The ladies had full A and B teams that came 6th and 10th in their respective divisions on the day. First back for Farnham was Louise Granell, 13th senior lady in a fine 43:53. Then came Anne Snelson in 52:03. The next three were sportingly paced to personal best times by Craig Tate-Grimes. They were Vicky Goodluck in 53:31, Helen Bracey in 53:34 and Clair Bailey in 53:46. Final scorer was Jane Probett in 58:52.