Club celebrate a year of high achievement

Farnham Runners celebrated members’ achievements of 2022 at their recent dinner dance when the annual awards were presented. This time the event took place at the Bourne Club, Frensham Road.

The awards were presented by chairman Nicola O’Connor as well as club captains and vice captains, Justin Clarke, Jane Georghiou, Steve Payne and Linda Tyler.

Men's Grand Prix winners with trophies, Chris Raby, Ivan Chunnett, Neil Ambrose, Justin Clarke, at the 2022-23 Farnham Awards Dinner Ladies' Grand Prix winners with trophies, Kay Copeland, Louise Granell, Linda Tyler, Sue Taylor, Bridget Naylor, at the 2022-23 Farnham Awards Dinner

The top five men in the club’s Grand Prix were Nik Darlington, Neil Ambrose, Justin Clarke, Ivan Chunnett and Chris Raby and the ladies were Kayleigh Copeland, Louise Granell, Linda Tyler, Sue Taylor and Bridget Naylor.

Bella Weetch receives the ladies' most PB award from Linda Tyler at the 2022-23 Farnham Awards Dinner

Richard Denby, James Goodwin and Bella Weetch were given awards for the most personal bests in Hampshire Road League races.

The men’s marathon trophy went to Nik Darlington for his time of 2:39 58 in the Edinburgh marathon while Emma Pearson won the ladies’ marathon trophy for her 3:17:21 at Brighton.

Club chairman Nicola O'Connor presenting Craig Tate-Grimes with the Steve Parker Award at the 2022-23 Farnham Awards Dinner

The prestigious Steve Parker award for the person who did most for the club in 2022 went to Craig Tate-Grimes for his dedicated efforts throughout the year, mainly in his role as race director.

Nicola O’Connor gave Richard Denby, treasurer and membership secretary the Chairman’s Award for his extra efforts to save energy at the Bourne clubhouse.

The Smiley Award went to Kate Townsend.

Flowers were presented to Linda Tyler and Jane Georghiou for their coaching on Mondays and Tuesdays throughout the year.

Shirley Perrett receiving a special award at the 2022-23 Farnham Awards Dinner

Nicola presented additional prizes this year to some club members who stood out. They were

  • Shirley Perrett (photo above) – for courage and determination and finishing the marathon with a head injury.
  • Penny Schnabel – for coming back to running when she thought she’d never run again
  • Colin Addison – for services to recording cross-country results
  • Rachel Morris – for helping us become a more accessible club and for reminding us that everything is possible if we start by saying ‘Yes, we can do this!’

Organiser of the evening, Louise Granell, presented with flowers at the 2022-23 Farnham Awards Dinner

Louise Granell, the club’s communications officer, was presented with flowers for organising the successful evening which concluded with some very energetic dancing!