Runners hold 2023 club championships in the heat

Farnham Runners Runners before the start of the 2023 Club Championship

This year the Club Championships took place on a very warm, sunny morning, humid but breezy.

It was expertly organised by the club’s race director, Craig Tate-Grimes who had checked that at that time of day the run was mostly in the shade and had put out so many signs and arrows that no-one could possibly get lost.

Neil Ambrose and Carolyn Wickham with water spray to cool runners at the 2023 Club Championship

A water station that the runners passed twice was manned by Neil Ambrose and Carolyn Wickham, who had also brought along a water spray – a “life-saver” in the conditions.

The route of approximately 10km was the same as since the championships began in 1991 and age group records are kept, but the high temperature ensured none could be broken this year. The usual trophies to be won for each 10 year age group were on display.

Six of the beginners who had completed the Get Me Started course also completed their first 5K race.

2023 Men's Club Champion, James Clarke, being presented with his trophy

Champion for the last five years, James Clarke was there to retain his senior title and take the overall men’s trophy as well, in a splendid time of 37:10. Next to finish in the same category were Joe Collins in 38:02 and Joe Lee in 40:53, both tackling the hilly course for the first time.

Nick Grist was the worthy winner of the M 40 category in 42:16, while Colin Addison was only just over a minute back in 43:38 to take the M60 trophy, with second M60, Chris Raby less than a minute behind him, in 44:34.

Ladies' Club Champion 2023, Lou Granell, being presented with her trophy

Louise Granell in 46:09 was first lady by a comfortable margin, taking the overall ladies’ trophy as well as the F35 shield.

A jubilant Richard Denby in 47:22 was presented with M50 shield, winning the battle with second M50, Andy Brown, 47:49. Ivan Chunnett, second M40 in 48:12 stayed meters ahead of first F45 lady, Emma Pearson in 48:17.

James Goodwin, third M50 in 49:06 and third M60 Mike Carter in 49:39 followed, while Linda Tyler was easily first in the F55 category finishing in 51:11. Sue Taylor was second F45 in 53:42, Lindsay Bamford second F55 in 54:57, with new member Gemma Whitehouse in 57:29. F65 Jane Georghiou crossed the line in 57:50, just ahead of third F45, Collette Grist in 57:59.

Steve Collings clocked exactly 60 minutes, followed by newcomer Candy Waller in her first 10km race in 60:10, with Becky Martin and Sally Lawrence in 60:58 and 69:14. A huge cheer went up as M70, Robert Drummond crossed the line in 1:15:30, with tail runner Tori Shaw following.

Chairman Nicola O’Connor thanked Craig and all the marshals and helpers and congratulated the runners for completing the race in tough conditions before presenting the trophies.


Runners recovering in the shade after the 2023 Club Championship

See the Photo Gallery 2023 for further photos from the 2023 Club Championship, including phots of the winners in the various categories described above.