2016 Annual Awards Dinner and Dance

2016 award winners left to right Cyra Parkes, Georgi Robinson-Welch and Vicki and James Clarke

Over 100 members, relations and friends of Farnham Runners gathered for the club’s annual Awards Dinner at the Hog’s Back hotel near Farnham to celebrate the achievements of the club during the past year. They were thrilled to hear that member Susie Chan had gained a world record for ladies treadmill running that very day!

Chairman Richard Sheppard’s masterful performance as MC contributed to the conviviality of the occasion. Social secretary Jacquie Browne had organised the event while Ian Carley had produced slides to match each award. Members band “No Direction” played as guests arrived.

Sarah Hill won the ladies’ marathon trophy for the fifth consecutive time for her time of 3:00:31 in the Isle of Wight marathon. Rob Gilchrist took the men’s Paul Charlton Memorial trophy for his 2:52:01 in the London marathon.

The Herbie Memorial trophy for improvement (by 1 minute 51 seconds) in the Alice Holt 10km between 2014 and 2015 went to Tim Cummins.

The ladies’ Prince Memorial trophy for an improvement of 4 mins16 secs was won by Kay Copeland while Lina Haines took the Handicap trophy.

The prestigious Steve Parker Award for the person who has done most for the club during 2015 went by an overwhelming committee vote to Cyra Parkes (pictured top left) for her huge enthusiasm, new ideas and commitment to the club.

The Chairman’s Award went to Georgi Robinson-Welch (pictured top middle).

“This is to recognise an individual who has embraced the enjoyment of running, and has made tremendous personal progress as well as encouraging others with their enthusiasm promoting our club and all of the benefits of being part of the running and exercise community”,

explained Richard Sheppard.

The unique “Smiley” made by former chairman Andy Smith went jointly to Vicki and James Clarke (pictured top right) for their cheerful contribution to races and social events.


John Phillips and Mary Denise Fitzgerald with their trophies at 2016 Awards Dinner

The two who gained the most personal best times in the Hampshire Road Races were John Phillips (for the second year) and Mary Denise Fitzgerald (pictured above).

The club’s Grand Prix winners (from top to 5th) were Men: James Clarke, Richard Lovejoy, Stuart Morel, Rob Gilchrist and Curtis Anderson, Ladies: Eloise Stradling , Jane Georghiou, Mary Denise Fitzgerald, Lindsay Bamford, Vicki Clarke.

Kay Copeland, Matt Dellar, Jane Georghiou and Stuart Haig who did all six Southern Cross Country League races during 2015 received T shirts designed by Ian Carley.

Richard Sheppard commended the achievements of the whole club, with particular reference members who contributed to the success of the local Alice Holt parkrun. It was announced that from 2001-2015 Farnham Runners had raised a fantastic total of ÂŁ197,000 in marathon sponsorship.


Max Fulham, puppet Eugene and Peter Strange on stage at 2016 Awards Dinner

Then came a most memorable and unexpected part of the evening – the Alternative Awards. Accompanied by his puppet “Eugene”, local and talented young ventriloquist Max Fulham brought the house down (pictured above). Chosen members of the audience were invited to take part in the performance, to the amusement of all. (James Warren had provided some inside information, with more slides from Ian Carley.)


Dancing to the disco at 2016 Awards Dinner

The evening concluded with dancing into the small hours to a fabulous selection of music provided by a local DJ.